Maryland Driver License

Maryland Driver License

In the state of Maryland, you can start the process of getting a driver’s license as soon as you turn 15½ years old.

How to get a Maryland learner’s permit

A learner’s permit allows the licensee, who is older than 15, drive legally in the state. While holding the permit, you will need to drive, only supervised by a 21+ licensed driver.

Permit requirements

  • In the first place, you must be at least 15 years and 9 months old
  • Secondly, you should make an appearance at a MVA office and apply for the permit
  • In addition to this, you will need to thoroughly fill in the application form and answer the given questions
  • You parents or guardian should co-sign the application and give their consent for your driving (for applicants under 18)
  • Presenting a completed Learner’s Permit School Attendance Certification form is also an important requirement for the process (for applicants under 16)
  • To assist the licensing process, you will need to bring with you the documents that the Administration has asked you
  • Another main requirement is successfully pass a vision test, as a way of guaranteeing safer driving
  • The other main requirements is taking a knowledge test on traffic laws and regulations
  • The last step before you receive the permit by mail is paying the permit fee of $50

Present the following documents required by MVA

  • Documents of birth of date (including your age)
  • Valid forms demonstrating your identity (for example, US issued passport, passport card and so on)
  • Evidence of lawful presence (citizenship or legal presence)
  • Social Security Number (or papers of ineligibility if you do not qualify for one)
  • Maryland residential address

How to obtain a Maryland provisional driver license

Once you hold the learner’s permit, you can easily pass to the next stage and aim for a provisional driver’s license. It will allow you to practice legal driving without supervision. However, there will still be some restrictions, which will go away as soon as you reach the required age or obtain a full license.


  • First and foremost, it is essential to hold your valid and unexpired Learner’s Instructional Permit (for at least nine months if under 25)
  • Secondly, it is important to have completed an approved driver education program (high school or private program)
  • Thirdly, you should have completed at least 60 hours of driving practice with a 21+ licensed driver beside you.
  • The number of required practice hours is 14 for drivers, who are 25 years old or older
  • In addition to the previous requirement, you will need to submit a completed and signed Practice and skills Log document
  • The next step is scheduling a road test beforehand by contacting a MVA office and passing the driving test
  • For the driving test, you should bring all of the above-mentioned documents and your registered and insured vehicle
  • Maintaining clean driving record is an important part as well

Provisional license driving restrictions

  • Driving only between 5:00 a.m. and 12:00 a.m. if there is no supervision (otherwise, you can drive during this time for the purposes of job, school or other programs, supervised by a licensed driver)
  • Carrying only family members in your car (or adults)
  • Not using any means of communication (for instance, a cell phone) while driving

Maryland full (adult) driver license

A full adult license allows the licensee to reach the final level of a driver’s license and drive without the previous restrictions.

License requirements

  • To start with, you must have held your provisional license for at least eighteen (18) months
  • Secondly, you must be at least 18 years old
  • Thirdly, you should not have had any convictions while you held your provisional license

Once you meet all of these requirements, the Motor Vehicle Administration will automatically transform your current license into a full driver’s license. They will also mail you the attachment card, which is to indicate the change of the driver’s license status. In addition to this, you will not need the attachment card as soon as you renew the license.

Ways to renew a Maryland driver license

The state of Maryland requires drivers to renew their licenses every five or eight years, which depends on the license. You can renew the license in person, online or by mail as long as you meet the eligibility requirements for each type of renewal.

In person renewal

MVA, as a rule, notifies Maryland driver of the upcoming renewal 60 days before the license is due to expire. It also states whether you can renew the license online or by mail.

For renewal, you will simply need to visit a nearest MVA office and request a renewal. You will also need to submit your photograph, current license, necessary paperwork and the fee.

Note that there is also a vision test, which, as you can see, is an essential part of any process concerning driving.

Online renewal

If MVA gives permission for online renewal, then follow the given instructions and complete the renewing process. You will also need to submit your vision test.

By mail renewal

To renew the driver’s license by mail, you must first complete the application form, include the required fee and mail the application. It is important to know that driver, who are older than 40, must ask their doctor to sign the “vision certification” part and submit it, too.

What to do if you lose your Maryland driver license

If, in any circumstances, you lose your driver’s license or permit, you can request a new one, by asking for a duplicate license. Once you complete the required steps, MVA will send you your duplicate driver’s license by mail.

In case you did not lose the license, but someone stole it, you should go to a local MVA office and ask for a new one.

Maryland driver’s license classifications

Class C

This one, in short, is a regular license for driving private cars.

Class A

This license, in short, is for operating any single combination of vehicles and towing any trailer.

Class B

This license, in short, is for operating vehicles that weigh more than 26,001 pounds towing trailers up to 10,000 pounds.

Class M

This license, in short, is for operating a motorcycle on roads.


There are also commercial driver’s licenses (CDL), in particular Class A/B/C for operating a commercial vehicle or combination of vehicles.

Seda S

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.